Site Banner

Popular Choral Works with Reduced Scoring in the Orchestral Parts

Home Page        Hire a Score        Returning Hired Scores        Customer Feedback        Contact Us        Log In


NEW NOVELLO version edited by Michael Pilkington

>>>> Order Form

Score Number


Score Price

Score + Postage
£150   +   £15   =   £165






NEW NOVELLO version edited by Michael Pilkington

This version requires 1 flute, 1 oboe, 1 clarinet, 1 bassoon, 2 horns, 1 trumpet, timpani, percussion and normal strings (eleven fewer than Haydn's original). Only the A4 score is available for this work.

The scoring has been done with a light touch so the solo parts in the wind section remain on the original instruments.

No continuo part is provided. All recitatives are included in the string parts (plus other instruments when Haydn scores them). This means recitatives can be done without a keyboard instrument. If you want to include keyboard accompaniment in your performance then using the piano reduction in the vocal scores will fit with both the choir and orchestra. The choices are yours.

To resolve the irritation of having different rehearsal letters in the orchestra parts as compared with the choir copies, I provide orchestral copies to match these two editions. Other editions may follow if there is sufficient demand. Only the English translation appears in the score.

The advantages of using this version are

  • The usual problem of the orchestra being too loud for the choir is resolved.
  • The reduced orchestra will fit more easily into smaller venues.
  • Eleven fewer wind players need to be hired easing the pressure on society budgets.
  • For recitatives, the vocal line with words is included in the relevant orchestral parts.

The disadvantages using this version include

  • A less full sound, especially in the choruses and more dramatic moments.
  • Not authentic.
  • While fewer musicians are needed, they do need to be experienced players as the orchestration is more like chamber music with every note counting.

The set of orchestral parts (all A4 size) includes one each of the wind, three brass and percussion part and 5 x first violin, 4 x 2nd violin, 4 x viola, 4 x cello and 2 x double bass. The percussion part is only in one movement (towards the end) and is optional - it can easily be omitted (and often is) but could be played by a choir member who is brave enough.